RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 50A RV with 30A plug?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50A RV with 30A plug?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
Lantley

Ellicott City, Maryland

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 08:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The cord you have is worthwhile if you are on a 30 amp site. However you will need to replace the entire cord with a true 50 amp(on both ends... LOL) cord.
For the record I own a cord just like the one you posted. I use it to plug into my 30 amp outlet at home. I also use it when on 30 amp sites.
The smaller 30 amp cord is easier to handle vs. the 50 amp cord.
For those tmes when you don't need both AC's or find yourself on a 30 amp site
the dedicated 30 amp cord will come in handy.


19'Duramax w/hips,12'Open Range,Titan Disc Brake
BD3,RV safepower,22" Blackstone
Ox Bedsaver,RV760 w/BC20,Glow Steps, Enduraplas25,Pedego
BakFlip,RVLock,5500 Onan LP,Prog.50A surge,Hughes autoformer
Porta Bote 8.0 Nissan,Sailun S637
Correct Trax,Splendide


rhagfo

Portland, OR

Senior Member

Joined: 07/06/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 08:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BurbMan wrote:

Our new-to-us 5er is wired for 2 a/c's but only has one installed. The factory installed a ceiling vent in the bedroom, and when you remove the inside trim around the fan you can see the #12 120v wire in the ceiling and there is a 20a breaker in the panel labeled "bedroom a/c". So it looks pretty easy to take out the roof vent and replace with a 2nd a/c unit in the bedroom.

The panel has a 50a main breaker, but the shore cord has a 30a plug on it...is there such a thing as an "adapter cord" that doesn't require a dogbone? Am I correct that all I need to do is replace the shore cord to get 50a to the rig?

Here's the RV end of the shore power cord:
[image]
Now here's the plug end of the shore cord:
[image]
This is connection on the outside of the rig:
[image]
The inside breaker panel:
[image]

On a related note, I'm not sure I want to add a 2nd a/c in the bedroom...we dry camp a fair amount and at least I'll get some air movement with the vent, the a/c blocks that vent spot and the only way to get cold air is to plug in. Thoughts?


BurbMan, what is the brand of your breaker panel? With the 50 amp breaker located at the far left the buss must be like a house, where every other full size breaker is on a different leg of power.

* This post was edited 04/24/22 09:45pm by rhagfo *


Russ & Paula the Beagle Belle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 Aisin DRW 4X4 Long bed.
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS, 32' GVWR 12,360#

"Visit and Enjoy Oregon State Parks"


wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/25/22 04:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ok the Marinco outlety on that cord is a 50 amp (4 contcts. you don't see the 4th but I do. it's on the outside of the outlet. it's the safety ground.

Yes they do make 30 amp detachble cords for 50 amp RVs.. I have one

Recommend you get a 50 amp detachable cord

Oh that 50 amp "main" breaker.. it's a double ganged right?

(I used the 30 amp cord when on 30 amp sites.. way easier to wrangle than the 50 amp one. those suckers are HEAVY).


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


ford truck guy

Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 03/22/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/25/22 06:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I agree with all the above.... that RV IS wired for 50 amp, just go out and buy a new 50 amp detachable cord and good to go..

Keep the existing 30 amp cord as a spare in case you camp at a park that only offers 30 amp


Me-Her-the kids
2020 Ford F350 SD 6.7
2020 Redwood 3991RD Garnet


BurbMan

Indianapolis, IN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/20/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 04/25/22 06:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the info guys, I was unaware that they made adapter cords! This is our first 50a rig, so I'm not familiar with the setup. I assumed that the female side on the RV would have 4 prongs like the plug, not 3 with that ground plate on the circumference of the plug.

The breaker panel is a Progressive Dynamics, and has the staggered buss bars like you would see in a residential panel. I should have snapped a pic when I had the cover off, but it's wired so neatly, it looks like a residential panel set up by a pro electrician. The 12v panel is separate and installed next to it, and the PD9260 converter sits by itself in the basement. Our old Terry TT had a WFCO setup where the 120v, 12v, and converter/charger were all sandwiched into one partitioned box.

The trailer is set up for a W/D but there isn't one currently installed, and although pre-wired for a 2nd a/c, that was never installed either. This was the only shore cord we got with the rig.

Still debating about adding the 2nd a/c...One one hand, the main unit sends very little cold air up to the one duct in the bedroom, so adding a bedroom unit is a must for air conditioned comfort. However, the bedroom unit would install in place of the roof vent that that's there now, so we would lose that source of air circulation when boondocking.

theoldwizard1

SE MI

Senior Member

Joined: 09/07/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/25/22 06:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bobbo wrote:

Looks to me like you could cut off that 30 amp plug and replace it with a 50 amp plug. There should be 4 wires in there, not 3. You should have NEUTRAL, GROUND, L1, and L2.

Not necessarily !

That appears to be an L7-50P on the RV or possibly something else. Based on the label on the RV, I am betting that is not the original plug. I would have an electrician change it to the standard RV plug which is NEMA 14-50P. Note this is non-locking plug. If you want a locking plug, it would be an L14-50P but you would likely have to use an adapter (dog bone) to plug in at any RV park.

toedtoes

California

Senior Member

Joined: 05/17/2014

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 04/25/22 07:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wa8yxm wrote:

Ok the Marinco outlety on that cord is a 50 amp (4 contcts. you don't see the 4th but I do. it's on the outside of the outlet. it's the safety ground.

Yes they do make 30 amp detachble cords for 50 amp RVs.. I have one

Recommend you get a 50 amp detachable cord

Oh that 50 amp "main" breaker.. it's a double ganged right?

(I used the 30 amp cord when on 30 amp sites.. way easier to wrangle than the 50 amp one. those suckers are HEAVY).


Yes, the RV side of the cord is a 50amp marinco. But the pedestal side plug is 30amp.


1975 American Clipper RV with Dodge 360 (photo in profile)
1998 American Clipper Fold n Roll Folding Trailer
Both born in Morgan Hill, CA to Irv Perch (Daddy of the Aristocrat trailers)

toedtoes

California

Senior Member

Joined: 05/17/2014

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 04/25/22 07:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

theoldwizard1 wrote:

Bobbo wrote:

Looks to me like you could cut off that 30 amp plug and replace it with a 50 amp plug. There should be 4 wires in there, not 3. You should have NEUTRAL, GROUND, L1, and L2.

Not necessarily !

That appears to be an L7-50P on the RV or possibly something else. Based on the label on the RV, I am betting that is not the original plug. I would have an electrician change it to the standard RV plug which is NEMA 14-50P. Note this is non-locking plug. If you want a locking plug, it would be an L14-50P but you would likely have to use an adapter (dog bone) to plug in at any RV park.


There is no need to change out the RV plug. The OP can simply get a 50amp cord like this

Cummins12V98

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 06/03/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/25/22 08:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Delete


2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

Cummins12V98

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 06/03/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/25/22 09:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What does your cord say on the outside jacket?????? It may be 50A 4 wire 6/3 8/1 with a 30A on it's end that plugs into the pedestal.

Now I see the 30A male end on the cord is moulded on so I will assume it's a 30A cord.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50A RV with 30A plug?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.