RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Replaced WFCO with PD

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Replaced WFCO with PD

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
LittleBill

Scranton, PA USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/29/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/22 12:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

i have a 9145, with the wizard pendant. it simply allows you to pick what stage you want to be in manually. most will just push it once (light goes solid) and it drops into boost mode. to rush charge the battery, otherwise, you generally don't need to touch it.

based on the led's on it though, you can determine what stage its currently running in.





Thermoguy

Graham, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/04/2017

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/06/22 01:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Vintage465 wrote:

StirCrazy wrote:

Vintage465 wrote:

wa8yxm wrote:

Vintage465 wrote:



I have four 6v flooded old school golf cart batteries. I read up on the manual. What it actually says is there is a button you can push on the circuit board to "arrest" it(they don't recommend doing this) in what ever stage you like. Then after some event...like the end of the stage/cycle, it will default back to the algorithm........anyway, I don't see why I'd do that, but that's the way I read it.


I read the Wizard manual a bit differently but the effect (end result) is the same.

I do not recall seeing a LiFePO4 mode but they did enter into a deal with Battle Born to produce a converter for LiFePO4s and they may have added that mode to the wizard since (Would make sense to do so)

No matter what model you have no matter if wizard is built in Like 4600 or 9200 or plugged in (9100 which I had) same wizard.

Those with built in have an optional dongle. That's where the button is.


You likely read it more accurately than me. I just saw that you can select a particular stage by pressing the button in a sequence and based on the flashes choose a stage and at some point it will automatically default back to the Charge Wizard being in control. And the Charge Wizard can be disabled by unplugging and removing the pigtail that connects the mother board to the fuse panel. Either way, I'll never mess with it unless it starts frying my batteries. I don't spend any time regularly plugged into shore power on a genny. So in reality this is all great stuff for someone else.


I have had one PD with the plugin charge wizzard, and 4 with it built in. I have never seen a button on them so this is interesting. I just put in a whole PD load center into my camper last sumer and don't recal any button either.. weird..

just went on there site, if it has a built in charge wizzard there is no way to interact with it. it is all actavated automaticly by the voltage of the battery.

Steve

Seems to me that PD makes a lot of different stuff and they may not all have the same features. Here is what mine says and has about the mysterious button

[image]


That's where the button is on mine - exactly like the picture.

BurbMan

Indianapolis, IN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/20/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/06/22 07:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Vintage465 wrote:

Seems to me that PD makes a lot of different stuff and they may not all have the same features. Here is what mine says and has about the mysterious button

[image]


No...As shown here there are different charge modes. The software controls what charge mode the PD is in, unless you push the button and change it. All the Wizard does is let you move that button to a more convenient location.

The main use case is if you are boondocking and using the batteries and have limited generator time, you can use the wizard to force the PD into boost mode and get more battery charge from your gen run time. Other than that, there is no need to "turn it off", just leave it alone.

Microlite Mike

NW Washington State

Full Member

Joined: 10/31/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/06/22 07:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BurbMan wrote:

Vintage465 wrote:

Seems to me that PD makes a lot of different stuff and they may not all have the same features. Here is what mine says and has about the mysterious button

[image]


No...As shown here there are different charge modes. The software controls what charge mode the PD is in, unless you push the button and change it. All the Wizard does is let you move that button to a more convenient location.

The main use case is if you are boondocking and using the batteries and have limited generator time, you can use the wizard to force the PD into boost mode and get more battery charge from your gen run time. Other than that, there is no need to "turn it off", just leave it alone.


Based on a conversation with a PD Tech Rep this "boost" mode can also be used if you convert to LifePo4 batteries and want to use the existing converter with Charge Wizard. Just force the Boost Mode which now causes the output voltate to 14.4 volts. Once the batteries have charged to ~90% and the converter has switched to Absorption voltage (~13.8 v) forcing back into Boost Mode will top off the battery and cell balancing occurs above 14 volts.

If one doesn't mind this manual step, which really only needs to be done occasionally if they have plenty of battery capacity, it can save the need to replace the converter.

PD doesn't publish this because they prefer to sell new converters[emoticon]


"Knowledge is realizing that the street is one-way, wisdom is looking both directions anyway."


~ Albert Einstein

ken56

Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 01/12/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/07/22 07:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Been using the wizard pendant for 3 years now and have never had an overcharge situation. You really let it do its thing and just leave it alone. It will sense what it needs to do.

Vintage465

Prunedale CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 05/02/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/07/22 08:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

All great info. I'm not planning to need to touch anything as my trailer is very seldom plugged in. Solar has safely taken care of my batteries for years and it will remain that way. When I plug in it's cause I need A/C while crossing the country, or there is some real emergency, while boon docking that my solar can't deal and I fire the genny up.......so far that hasn't happened


V-465
2013 GMC 2500HD Duramax Denali. 2015 CreekSide 20fq w/450 watts solar and 465 amp/hour of batteries. Retired and living the dream!

StirCrazy

Kamloops, BC, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2003

View Profile



Posted: 06/08/22 06:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Vintage465 wrote:

StirCrazy wrote:

Vintage465 wrote:

wa8yxm wrote:

Vintage465 wrote:



I have four 6v flooded old school golf cart batteries. I read up on the manual. What it actually says is there is a button you can push on the circuit board to "arrest" it(they don't recommend doing this) in what ever stage you like. Then after some event...like the end of the stage/cycle, it will default back to the algorithm........anyway, I don't see why I'd do that, but that's the way I read it.


I read the Wizard manual a bit differently but the effect (end result) is the same.

I do not recall seeing a LiFePO4 mode but they did enter into a deal with Battle Born to produce a converter for LiFePO4s and they may have added that mode to the wizard since (Would make sense to do so)

No matter what model you have no matter if wizard is built in Like 4600 or 9200 or plugged in (9100 which I had) same wizard.

Those with built in have an optional dongle. That's where the button is.


You likely read it more accurately than me. I just saw that you can select a particular stage by pressing the button in a sequence and based on the flashes choose a stage and at some point it will automatically default back to the Charge Wizard being in control. And the Charge Wizard can be disabled by unplugging and removing the pigtail that connects the mother board to the fuse panel. Either way, I'll never mess with it unless it starts frying my batteries. I don't spend any time regularly plugged into shore power on a genny. So in reality this is all great stuff for someone else.


I have had one PD with the plugin charge wizzard, and 4 with it built in. I have never seen a button on them so this is interesting. I just put in a whole PD load center into my camper last sumer and don't recal any button either.. weird..

just went on there site, if it has a built in charge wizzard there is no way to interact with it. it is all actavated automaticly by the voltage of the battery.

Steve

Seems to me that PD makes a lot of different stuff and they may not all have the same features. Here is what mine says and has about the mysterious button

[image]


weird, I am going to have to go tke a look at mine now. maybe they just didnt mention the button in the instructions. Mines a 4000 series load center thats Li compatable.. but still


2014 F350 6.7 Platinum
2016 Cougar 330RBK
1991 Slumberqueen WS100

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Replaced WFCO with PD
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.