RV.Net Open Roads Forum: House AC went out can I hook up to 20 amp gfci

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > House AC went out can I hook up to 20 amp gfci

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
Johnsonty131

Texas

New Member

Joined: 05/18/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 10:37am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Long story short ac part for house won’t be here till Saturday. 2021 keystone hideout 176bh says ac BTU is only 13,000. Can I safely run this from my normal house outlet? (I have the dog ear adapter for the 15 amp to 30)

midnightsadie

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 01/07/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 10:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

be nice if it was a 20amp out let, and I,d not use any thing else on that line. I run my rv ac off one with no problem.

bgum

South Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 10:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Is your "normal house outlet" 120 volts or 240V?
If it is 120v then yes but I wouldn't run anything else such as converter/charger, fridge, water heater.

Johnsonty131

Texas

New Member

Joined: 05/18/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 10:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I’m guessing 120 volt. All my house breakers say 20 also

way2roll

Wilmington NC

Senior Member

Joined: 10/05/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 11:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One of the nice things about an RV is that if something like the heat or AC goes out in your house, you can use the RV. As others said, just run one AC and nothing else and you should be fine. Usually worst case, you trip a breaker. I had a previous Class A that didn't mind a 15A for AC. My current FW prefers a 20A - it will trip a 15A even with only one AC running.


2020 F350 STX 6.7L Turbo Diesel
2020 FR Cedar Creek Silverback 29rw

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 11:23am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Very likely yes. I have a less than ideal service to my shop and am able to run the AC on all of the campers we've had off of a 15A service.
But at some point (may not have been the camper AC) that outlet got hot.
I replaced with a 20A outlet (since it is only a few feet from the subpanel, and already on a 20A breaker) and that works like a charm.

Keep the extension cord short. If you're using just your RV cord with no additional extension cord(s), that is the best scenario.

Worst case, it pops the breaker feeding that outlet. No harm, no foul.


2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 11:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

midnightsadie wrote:

be nice if it was a 20amp out let, and I,d not use any thing else on that line. I run my rv ac off one with no problem.


He said it was 20A in his title.

2112

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Posted: 06/14/22 11:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I do it all the time.

If you need an extension cord use a short 12AWG. Make one if you have to.

This is a bad week in Tx for losing your AC


2011 Ford F-150 EcoBoost SuperCab Max Tow, 2084# Payload, 11,300# Tow,
Timbrens, PullRite SuperGlide 2700 15K
2013 KZ Durango 2857


Sjm9911

New Jersey

Senior Member

Joined: 07/01/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 12:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As they said, yes, mine will do the 13500 ac and the tv. Nothing else. But thats all I needed. Use a large guage extention cord. The rv one is ideal.


2012 kz spree 220 ks
2020 Silverado 2500
Equalizer ( because i have it)
Formerly a pup owner.

Sjm9911

New Jersey

Senior Member

Joined: 07/01/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/14/22 12:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Switch the fridge to propane if you can, I dont know if I had mine on or not.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > House AC went out can I hook up to 20 amp gfci
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.