RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Dish Tv help needed

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Dish Tv help needed

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
hpdrver

Mansfield, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 05/17/2007

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 02:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am trying to set up a home using the two Wally’s I use with my rv. The home is wired with coax from multiple rooms going to the attic. There is also a single coax line going from the outside to the attic. It is not easy to add another coax line going from outside to the attic. I have purchased a dish 1000 satellite dish with a quad lnb to install outside to feed this single coax line that goes to the attic.

I have read goggle search on how to split dish satellite signal to two receivers but am confused by them. How do I split the dish signal to feed two Wally receivers. Thanks


Texas Two Step
2021 Coach House 272XLFR
2020 JL Jeep Wrangler

Ranger Smith

Wherever the rig is parked

Senior Member

Joined: 05/13/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 03:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One of these possibly

Satellite Signal Splitter


Where we are now

Amateur Radio Operator N1JS . . . SunSDR2 Dx, Ameritron AL-80 Amp, Icom 7100
Steve and Joy
2014 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q . . . 2016 Lincoln MKX
The Doodles, Abbie & Abel
Baby and Kissie the Chihuahuas and Lucy the Biewere Yorkie


PButler96

Midwest

Senior Member

Joined: 06/13/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 04:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A dish 1000 has 3 lnbs not 4. I assume its a western arc dish going by the location in your info. What you would need to do is have a separate coax run to each wally from the lnb as the lnb is also your "switch".

Or two separate runs from the lnb to a solo node, then one run from solo node to a power pass two way splitter, then a run from each splitter tap to each wally.


I have a burn barrel in my yard.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 05:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have you tried putting the dish in the Attic? Might be an issue in rain/snow but otherwise.

And if you have an attic window facing either west or south with a bit of positining you might even be able to avoid rain issues.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 08:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm having a hard time imagining a dish working in a attic, not that i've ever tried it. In my experience rain on the surface of the dish is not a problem, but rather the weather in the 23,000 mile distance to the satellite and/or wind that moves the dish.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


chuckbear

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/07/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 08:40am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You CAN NOT put a dish under any roof and get reception.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 09:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

chuckbear wrote:

You CAN NOT put a dish under any roof and get reception.
X2 But I'm not sure about glass in a window?

Cptnvideo

Arizona - most of the time

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 01:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm not positive, but I think RF energy (satellite signal) will pass thru fiberglass but not glass due to the chemical composition of glass.
For the OP, switch to a Hopper 3 with 2 wireless Joeys.


Bill & Linda
Arizona
2019 Dodge Ram Laramie 3500 dually 4x4 diesel
Hensley Trailer Saver BD5 hitch
2022 Grand Design Solitude 378MBS
1600 watts solar, 3kw inverter/charger, 3 206AH LiFePo4 batteries

PButler96

Midwest

Senior Member

Joined: 06/13/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 02:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cptnvideo wrote:

I'm not positive, but I think RF energy (satellite signal) will pass thru fiberglass but not glass due to the chemical composition of glass.
For the OP, switch to a Hopper 3 with 2 wireless Joeys.


He wants to use the two wallys he already has in his RV, in his house when hes not using the RV. Why would he want to buy a hopper 3 and two Joey's? Then he would have to reconfigure all the wiring in his RV amd the dish on his RV may not even support a hopper 3.

Cptnvideo

Arizona - most of the time

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/25/22 02:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No wiring to reconfigure in the house or RV. A single co-ax cable from the dish to the Hopper 3. That's it.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Dish Tv help needed
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.