RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Would this be a power converter issue??

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Would this be a power converter issue??

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
jkwilson

Indiana

Senior Member

Joined: 06/14/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/02/22 10:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

jkwilson wrote:

bikendan wrote:

jkwilson wrote:

Your air conditioner uses 12V too. I suspect your converter has failed or the battery has a shorted cell.


How does an air conditioner use 12v? They are powered by 120v AC power and most thermostats are powered by little AA/AAA batteries.


Most thermostats are not powered by AA or AAA batteries, and even when they are the HVAC is still controlled by 12VDC because the furnace doesn’t use AC power and the thermostat controls both.
My RV thermostat is powered by the RV 12 volt system.
OP is having issue with the A/C and low battery voltage.

No need to cover all RVs until the OP has the issue resolved.


Maybe you should address this to the previous poster who believes RV thermostats run on small batteries rather than the person who pointed out that it was likely a 12V battery problem.


John & Kathy
2014 Grand Design Reflection 303RLS
2014 F250 SBCC 6.2L 3.73

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/03/22 07:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

jbesper wrote:

-If my a/c is on and I try to turn my interior lights on and slide them from dim to bright, the a/c shuts off as though it's not getting enough juice.


His A/C is OK and he has low DC voltage, from his post.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/03/22 07:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP Checking the voltage is a start as suggested. Have the battery load tested. Charger, fuses and wiring could be involved. Consider a mobile tech.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/03/22 07:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Two possible issues
One Converter has died
Two: Bad battery... If you have a battery disconnect set it to disconnected so the unit draws all power from converter

If lights get bright.. battery.. go out.. Converter
That's got to be the easiest test there is.

If no disconnect switch lift the NEGATIVE lead(s) off the battery

NOTE: If converter.. Might just be a fuse or 3


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


jbesper

Florida

New Member

Joined: 07/02/2022

View Profile



Posted: 07/03/22 12:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you for the responses and ideas.

Update;
I found the troubleshooting guide for my power converter (Inteli-power 9260C) and ran through the various steps - certainly seems to be a bad converter (I've got good AC into the converter, no DC coming out). Also found the remains of a lizard half crawling out of the vent grates at the back of the unit - not saying it's his fault but I'm sure he didn't help.

I've got one on the way, in the meantime I also replaced the battery, because I have no idea how old it is and it was only showing 10'ish volts. I'm sure it was due in part because it wasn't getting properly charged...but for peace of mind I got a new battery. That will hold me for a couple days until the new converter gets here. I'll use my AC system for lamps, etc. til then.

FWIW - I my thermostats are DC, and I think that was spot on. The draw from the lights was sucking so much power that the thermostats weren't getting adequate juice and were shutting off the air conditioners.

Once again, thanks everyone for the info.
Cheers

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/03/22 03:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

They do fail.. Mine lasted 12.5 years (9180+Wizard) when it Died I was about 1.5 Hours from Progressive Dynamics and headed that way so I did a factory visit [emoticon]

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 07/03/22 04:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Did you check the fuses near the 12-volt output terminations?


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


bguy

The Rock

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/05/22 10:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Load test the battery.


---------------------------------------
2011 Ram 1500 Quad Cab, 4x4, 3.55, HEMI
2009 TL-32BHS Trail-Lite by R-Vision

jkwilson

Indiana

Senior Member

Joined: 06/14/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/05/22 11:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bguy wrote:

Load test the battery.


Would be a total waste of time and effort. The convertor should have more than enough current to run the air conditioner even with no battery installed at all.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/05/22 01:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

jkwilson wrote:

bguy wrote:

Load test the battery.


Would be a total waste of time and effort. The convertor should have more than enough current to run the air conditioner even with no battery installed at all.
I don't consider gaining knowledge a waste and the battery could be shorted which can cause other problems.

But yes he can disconnect the battery.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Would this be a power converter issue??
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.