RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Breaker issues

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Breaker issues

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Tuckerman52

Lafayette.la

New Member

Joined: 04/01/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/22 05:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good evening I am new to this I have a 1999 35 ft newmar Dutch star with a Ford Triton V8 have twin AC roof mount and my problem is I purchased a standalone portable air conditioner that pulls only 10 amps according to the label and as a regular three prong plug-in and every time I plug it in to the motorhome when I am on shore power now that is I have only access right now to a regular outlet in my carport regular 110 and when I plug the portable AC into the motorhome anywhere in it it then throws the breaker in my panel now I have 2 50amp main breakers and three sets of 20 amp 15 amp breakers besides that. I have made sure nothing else is running it's a 12,000 BTU portable AC and like I said it says it only pulls 10 amps if I plug it directly into the house and not into a socket in the RV then it will run fine I'm wondering if I possibly have two smaller cord running from the house to the motorhome but besides that I plugged my motorhome into itself fired up the generator which is an Onan 5500 and put one of the rooftop ACs on and as soon as I plugged in and turned on the portable AC it killed the generator which doesn't make any sense just looking for some help I'm going to talk to an electrician friend if I can tomorrow anybody have any ideas thank you and it much in advance for help

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 07/04/22 06:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The breaker in your panel, is in the house or the rig?
If in the rig, start by checking your shore power cord adapter.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/04/22 07:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just run a 120 volt extension cord from house to Rv. Now plug the one AC into it and if it blows the breaker you know that the AC has an issue. Keep it simple Unplug all other cords.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/04/22 08:19pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Extension cord needs to be as short as possible, 10 gauge wire and plugged into a dedicated 20A garage plug, not into a common multidrop regular plug.

Are you sure everything is off - hot water, refer, charger, etc?

Best to install at least a 30A RV plug if not a 50A RV plug.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/05/22 05:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First the 10 amps is running. might be much higher starting but... The breaker should allow that (Short time delay).

Second if you plug the A/C into the RV's outlet and plug the R/V into the carport.. there are other thigns in the RV.. a Progressive Dynamics 9180 with wizard can easily suck 10 (or more) amps if the batteries are Hungry. The Fridge may also be auto switching to A/C (about 3 amps) .


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


JRscooby

Indepmo

Senior Member

Joined: 06/10/2019

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/05/22 06:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP, RU2 home? If so, first step is plug the AC N2 house. If that does not trip house breaker, look at RV.

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/05/22 07:13am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

JRscooby wrote:

OP, RU2 home? If so, first step is plug the AC N2 house. If that does not trip house breaker, look at RV.


What? I can not even follow that!


Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/05/22 08:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dodge guy wrote:

JRscooby wrote:

OP, RU2 home? If so, first step is plug the AC N2 house. If that does not trip house breaker, look at RV.

/
What? I can not even follow that!
As stated in his post it's a portable A/C that is OK in the house.

Other loads in the RV and excessibe voltage drop due to the extension cord and possible garage circuit.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/05/22 08:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP With a 30A RV plug and 30A extensions you might be able to run the portable A/C.

HOWEVER, Consider installing a 50A plug.

JRscooby

Indepmo

Senior Member

Joined: 06/10/2019

View Profile


Online
Posted: 07/05/22 09:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

CA Traveler wrote:

dodge guy wrote:

JRscooby wrote:

OP, RU2 home? If so, first step is plug the AC N2 house. If that does not trip house breaker, look at RV.

/
What? I can not even follow that!
As stated in his post it's a portable A/C that is OK in the house.

Other loads in the RV and excessibe voltage drop due to the extension cord and possible garage circuit.


Sorry, I gave up following the OP, thought maybe I would throw another code in there.

If AC works when plugged into home outlet, but trips a breaker in RV, look at what else looses power at trip. Add the loads to AC, compare to size of breaker.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Breaker issues
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.