RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Coleman Mach AC won't do anything - no fan, no ac

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman Mach AC won't do anything - no fan, no ac

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
opnspaces

San Diego Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/25/22 01:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Could you have flipped the hot and neutral wires when you added the 30amp circuit? Do you have one of these testers you can use to verify the wiring?
Link


2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton
2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH
1986 Coleman Columbia Popup.

3 tons

NV.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/25/22 03:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We’re all rooting for ya [emoticon]

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/25/22 06:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ah. Thought strikes

Normally the 120 volt power lead is one continuous run of Romex from the Breaker box to the A/C (however there is no guarantee)

Now rodents love to chow down on romex but I'm inclined to think not

Two issues I have personally seen.

Bad connection.. A/C end of cable (Where the Romex connects to the Flexible wires in the A/C) they often use wire nuts and ... Not the best connectors.

Check for any evidence of arcing or burning NOTE THIS can trip breakers both on the RV's breaker box and the outlet feeding the RV.

Other thing I've seen.. Joke. sort of. many RVers have a few screws loose.

When my rig was New (less than 1 year) I had major A/C issues. Sometimes one worked, Sometimes the other.. both or none.. Ok so I started at the breaker panel.. Noticed when I was pokeing around (Safely.. I'm trained in that kind of thing) wires MOVING in the clamps.. Uh. That's not right.

one screw took a full 3 1/2 turns before I was happy Others took over 2 full turns) Yup they stuck the wire in but never tightened it down.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


mikec35

Seneca, SC

New Member

Joined: 12/15/2004

View Profile



Posted: 09/19/22 06:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well, I'm an idiot!

I forgot to plug the outside cord into the top of the popup before raising it. I have yet to go camping with this camper so all the hookup procedures aren't second nature yet. I thought I'd update this thread at the expense of my dignity in hopes that anyone researching the same problem will check the obvious. Thanks for all the help!

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman Mach AC won't do anything - no fan, no ac
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.