RV.Net Open Roads Forum: help with outlets not working in 2019 pacearrow 36u

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > help with outlets not working in 2019 pacearrow 36u

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 08/05/22 09:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GFCI receptacles have what is called a feed through feature. GFCI receptacle may work but nothing downstream. Only test is to pull it out and check output.
A three light tester would help identify whether it is a broken wire or ?.
Flipping of breakers is not a good way to operate circuit breakers. You should turn breakers off applying light pressure toward off, turn on main breaker if equipped, then turn on branch breaker one at a time.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


midnightsadie

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 01/07/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/05/22 10:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

sounds like your doing a good job checking, might trace the 14teen wire to its source.

rk911

DuPage County

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/05/22 10:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

paries wrote:

So if i had a bad GFI, would the NOT be working. I have plugged something into both GFI's and they both work

yes, they would NOT be working if they were tripped. hence my theory that you have another GFCI somewhere.


Rich
Ham Radio, Sport Pilot, Retired 9-1-1 Call Center Administrator
_________________________________
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
'46 Willys CJ2A
'03 Jeep Wrangler TJ
'10 Jeep Liberty KK

& MaggieThe Wonder Beagle

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/05/22 11:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enblethen wrote:

GFCI receptacles have what is called a feed through feature. GFCI receptacle may work but nothing downstream. Only test is to pull it out and check output.
Enlighten me as I though the plug on the GFCI was directly connected to it's load terminals and not downstream of it's switch or coil.
A three light tester would help identify whether it is a broken wire or ?.
Downstream plugs on the GFCI which can help isolate the problem.


* This post was edited 08/05/22 11:28am by CA Traveler *


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 08/05/22 11:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Internal of some GFCI receptacles for feed through function is separate from the GFCI circuit.
Plugging in a three light tester would show, open hot, open neutral, open ground.
This is on my Ames GST-125. Mes GST-125
Tester would be plugged into dead receptacle(s).
It won't tell where the problem is. Only guaranteed test of GFCI feed through feature is with voltmeter connected to load terminals.

opnspaces

San Diego Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/05/22 01:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Did you check for power with the slide in as well as out? I loose wire might only have good connection in one position.


2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton
2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH
1986 Coleman Columbia Popup.

paries

utah

New Member

Joined: 03/03/2021

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/06/22 09:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

i have an update, found the problem. I removed the mattress and there are two access panels under the mattress(in the bottom of the box of the bed) these two access panels allow you to see some of the wiring. One of the plugs(a clear plug that has the yellow 14/2 going to it) was just a little loose. reconnected it and plugs are working again....

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 08/07/22 06:48am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the update.
Safe Travels!

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > help with outlets not working in 2019 pacearrow 36u
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.