RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Automatic Transfer Switch problem

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Automatic Transfer Switch problem

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
Alraz24

home

New Member

Joined: 09/19/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/19/22 11:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My Ac will not run off generator. It runs fine off shore power. When trying to run off generator the AC will try to come on and then shut down to only fan working. Generator will still run, but produce no power and AC fan will run, but no compressor(just warm air)then later it will produce 120 volts again but, no ac compressor. Thought it might be automatic transfer switch so I wired a female plug end to the out put of the generator and plugged my shore power line in to it. AC and generator all runs fine. Do I need a new transfer switch?

Thanks

Mike

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/19/22 11:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Open the ATS and check for burnt contacts, wiring etc. To be really sure wire nut the gen wires to the CB panel wires at the ATS and check the A/C.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


Y-Guy

Tri-Cities, WA

Moderator

Joined: 03/04/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/19/22 01:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Which generator do you have? Just checking to see if you have you checked that both breakers on in the ON position no your generator?

[image]


2007 Winnebago Sightseer 35J
2011 Jeep Wrangler

arhayes

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 03/24/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/19/22 02:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The breakers was also my first thought, but since you bypassed the AT switch and it worked, that’s probably not it. I’m assuming your Genny puts out 44amps and you’re not exceeding capacity? Mine will only run 2 of my 3 AC’s. If you’re comfortable digging into the ATS, you can cut off power and look at the Genny side solenoids to make sure the contacts are clean. Barring that, it’ll need replacement. I had to replace mine 2 yrs ago (rig was 6 yrs old) got the same one installed in my rig off Amazon. Pretty straightforward replacement.


Alan and Kathleen
2015 Grand Design Momentum 380TH (RVD2)
2014 F350 6.7L Diesel DRW (Stormtrooper)
2012 Honda Goldwing NAVI/ABS (Land Speeder)

Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/19/22 07:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Alraz24 wrote:

Generator will still run, but produce no power

This statement is saying that the air conditioner has tripped the generator's breaker by drawing too much current. You have too much air conditioner and not enough generator. Adding an Easy Start to the air conditioner MAY help. Then again, it may not, depending on the size of the air conditioner and the size of the generator. My Honda EU2000i generator runs my 13,500 btu air conditioner with Easy Start installed near sea level just fine, but at altitude, it still fails.


Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/20/22 04:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

30 or 50 amp RV
On a 30 the generator often has TWO circuit breakers one 20 amp one 30 amp

The 20 is for the AC and nothing else.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


Alraz24

home

New Member

Joined: 09/19/2022

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/21/22 09:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wa8yxm
It is a 30 amp. Can't see where it has tripped any breakers. When the ac wont run on generator when going through the transfer switch and then I plug it into the plug I wired to the generator out put and did nothing else, such as reset any breakers, it would seem to eliminate any breaker problem.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Automatic Transfer Switch problem
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.