RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Honda 2000 won’t run my late model home furnace

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Honda 2000 won’t run my late model home furnace

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev
Sponsored By:
C Schomer

Pueblo West, Co.

Senior Member

Joined: 12/26/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/23/22 10:13am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bonding worked! My 5er required bonding and so does my home Armstrong furnace so I opened up the Honda panel and bonded neutral/grd. permanently.
I always run my gen on eco throttle so it only runs at the rpm necessary. I ran my furnace on hi blower and the Honda stayed at minimum rpm... it hardly noticed the small load. My UEI amp-clamp bit it, so I couldn't get the amp reading.
BTW, UEI is throwaway junk. I'm going back to Fluke. Craig

C Schomer

Pueblo West, Co.

Senior Member

Joined: 12/26/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/23/22 10:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gdetrailer, that transfer sw. set-up in the 4 sq. cover is nice but I made my own with a $6 DPDT, on-off-on, 20A/125V toggle.
[image]
While I was adding the sw. to the furnace, I decided to run a romex to the garage because that's where the gen. will be. No more 100' ext. cord needed. Craig
[image]

C Schomer

Pueblo West, Co.

Senior Member

Joined: 12/26/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/23/22 10:37am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ooopps, double!

3 tons

NV.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/23/22 02:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Grit dog wrote:

ROBERTSUNRUS wrote:

[emoticon] My furnace, HVAC system, runs on 240 volts. So my generator won't run it either.


My furnace is a woodstove. My Honda doesn't do much for it either....
Relevance?


OMG, just think of all the plant fertilizer (CO2) you’re pumping into the atmosphere!!

3 tons

Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/23/22 05:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

C Schomer wrote:

Bonding worked! My 5er required bonding and so does my home Armstrong furnace so I opened up the Honda panel and bonded neutral/grd. permanently.
I always run my gen on eco throttle so it only runs at the rpm necessary. I ran my furnace on hi blower and the Honda stayed at minimum rpm... it hardly noticed the small load. My UEI amp-clamp bit it, so I couldn't get the amp reading.
BTW, UEI is throwaway junk. I'm going back to Fluke. Craig

Thank you for the feedback.

3 tons wrote:

Grit dog wrote:

ROBERTSUNRUS wrote:

[emoticon] My furnace, HVAC system, runs on 240 volts. So my generator won't run it either.


My furnace is a woodstove. My Honda doesn't do much for it either....
Relevance?


OMG, just think of all the plant fertilizer (CO2) you’re pumping into the atmosphere!!

3 tons

As if the Honda doesn't generate any?


Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 11/26/22 08:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Some years back when my brother bought his New Home, it was an electric furnace installed in the basement just as fi it was gas or oil, 230b wall thermostat, expensive yo yse when electricity prices started rising, a few years later a natural gas line was run through area and he switched , the mfg snd sellers dont call those heaters


I can explain it to you.
But I Can Not understand it for you !

....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


C Schomer

Pueblo West, Co.

Senior Member

Joined: 12/26/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/27/22 12:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Electric furnace, air handler w/heat strips, most people know what they are, without getting any more technical. The worst set-up I had was heat pumps w/o heat strips, in the Phx area. It actually gets cold there... I've seen 13* and I think the record was 12. The HPs constantly cycled between heat and defrost (cooling) all night. I would have added heat strips if I would have stayed there.

BTW, My NG furnace draws 2.2A on hi-fire and hi-blower.. the generator hardly notices! Craig

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Honda 2000 won’t run my late model home furnace
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.