RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Two inverters for 50 amp service

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Two inverters for 50 amp service

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Next
Sponsored By:
Cptnvideo

Arizona - most of the time

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 12:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We have a Go Power IC Series 3000 watt inverter and 50 amp service on our 5th wheel. I have 2 complaints about it that I wasn't aware of when it was installed.
The monitor panel only monitors Line 1. The current limit function only limits current on Line 1. So when plugged into a relative's 15 or 20 amp service, we can only see and control what is being drawn on Line 1. And I would like to control the current on both lines so we wouldn't inadvertently trip the breaker feeding the RV.
Is it possible to have two 2000 watt inverters (one on each line)? My dealer says no. But I don't see why not as nothing in the RV runs on 240 volts.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but to create 240 VAC for two 120 VAC lines, the 2 lines have to be out of phase. And if the lines were in phase, 0 VAC would be measured across the 2 lines. So the output of the 2 inverters would be out of phase when plugged into a 50 amp service and in phase when plugged into 30 (or less) amp service. But I don't see an issue with that. Am I missing something?


Bill & Linda
Arizona
2019 Dodge Ram Laramie 3500 dually 4x4 diesel
Hensley Trailer Saver BD5 hitch
2022 Grand Design Solitude 378MBS
1600 watts solar, 3kw inverter/charger, 3 206AH LiFePo4 batteries

larry cad

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 05/23/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 02:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Let's start from the beginning: The inverter, no matter what, typically runs with a 12 VDC input. For this part, you can hook up your 12 VDC line to two inverters without any problem.

Second, each of those inverters typically has two each 120V AC single phase lines at the output which would give you a total of four 120vac, 15/20 amp, single phase lines.

Third, you don't have to use all four! For example, you can use one line from each inverter. Use one line to power one side of the RV, and another line to power the other side.

If your inverter has a line monitor that watches only one line, use that line on one side, and use one line from the other inverter on the other side. Both lines would be monitored.

However, since each of the four lines has an individual breaker in the inverter, it will monitor itself anyway.

Kinda expensive. Also, you say you may be plugged into a relative's 15 or 20 amp line. I have to assume this means you are running off an AC line and really don't need an inverter, since the inverter makes AC from DC in.

Two each, 2000 watt inverters in the above suggestion will be able to produce a maximum of 2000 watts since you are only using half of each one. However, those inverters are taking power from your batteries. The batteries have to be charged from the relatives house AC power which is limited to 15 or possibly 20
amps.

A 20 amp AC line from the relatives house can only deliver a MAX of 2400 watts and that is assuming no losses and a perfect condition.

I guess I've talked myself into getting confused about what you really want to do.


Today is my personal best for most consecutive days alive.

Our Travel Blog

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 02:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ok the answer to "Is it possible to have two inverters for 50 amp service" is.. like the answer the old men gave to the question Boxers or Briefs... "Depends".

Some.. For example when I first got my RV I had an inverter installed. It's no longer made but it was an Xantrex Prosine 2.0... NOW. I only had selected systems on the prosine.. but this model has a port that can be used to "Sync" it with another of the same model to produce 240 volts divided into two 120 volt legs (Same as the power from the park/pole).

That said the Xantrex that replaced it when it died.> DOES NOT HAVE the ability to team with another for 120/240/120 volt operation. I checked the Spec page for the Go Power IC Series 3000 watt inverter and it does not appear to be one that can be paired in this manner.

What do I suggest:
Take your pick of one of the following products and install it in the Shore Power line before the Automatic transfer switch (or alternatively next section)

Progressive Industries HW-50C (hard wired surge protection) WITH REMOTE.
The remote monitors both lines

Southwire/TRC Surge Guard. 34550 With optional remote

Or any equivlant product These are hard wired Surge guards they monitor incoming voltage. Current and in some cases other stuff. they will alert you to open ground or neutral and so on (I put mine before the auto transfer switch so it did not deal with the generator which has a monitoring system of it's own)

The alternatige is the portable version of the same devices.. Some now link to a phone app via Wi-Fi.. But make sure you get the top end units NOT the cheaper ones which do not monitor current... I prefer the hard wired for several reasons,

1 You never forget them as they are always there
2: Outta Sight, Outta mind (of Sticky Fingered type) so they do not grow legs.

The may..howeger...fail.. and thus mine was installed in the manner of the Hughes Autoformer (Look it up) so that if it failed I could physically bypass it. (never happened. though the older portable did die).


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


Cptnvideo

Arizona - most of the time

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 02:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Larry, I can see where my post is confusing. We have 1600 watts of solar and 618 ah of batteries.
We might want to run 2 A/C units while plugged in to a 15 or 20 amp circuit. The IC series inverter allows you to limit incoming current, making up the rest from batteries. But it only does this on Line 1. By going with 2 inverters, I can limit the current on each line thereby avoiding tripping the shore breaker. And the inverters will get the excess amps from the batteries.

Cptnvideo

Arizona - most of the time

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 03:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Nice post, wa8yxm. But doesn't really answer my question. BTW, neither did GoPower tech support.
Since I don't have any 240 VAC appliances, I don't see why I couldn't have 2 separate inverters and no need to sync them.

Michelle.S

Western NY till fall, then Sebring, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2011

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 03:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Simple, install a good EMS that has a remote display of both legs L1 & L2.
I have the Progressive Hardwired EMS and know exactly what the voltage and current are on each leg.


2018 Chevy 3500HD High Country Crew Cab DRW, D/A, 2016 Redwood 39MB, Dual AC, Fireplace, Sleep #Bed, Auto Sat Dish, Stack Washer/Dryer, Auto Level Sys, Disk Brakes, Onan Gen, 17.5" "H" tires, MORryde Pin & IS, Comfort Ride, Dual Awnings, Full Body Paint

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 04:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cptn: 50A 120/240V service is SINGLE PHASE POWER the same as the typical house. Granted many think it's 2 phase, it is not and cannot be because it's a single secondary winding on the transformer and the center tap is the neutral. And yes it's 240V across the 2 hots.

You can install a load sharing inverter on each hot line with battery input. The 120V output of each (or at least one) will need to be connected directly to a A/C and not through the main CB panel.

Running one A/C on a 20A circuit can be iffy especially in a CG as the voltage will often be low. 1600W solar will yield about 1000W on a normal day unless you have tracking solar. So you can get some limited A/C run time when there is sun, no other significant loads and not so much when the sun doesn't shine.

You have more solar than most but is it practical for A/Cs? Probably best to use a gen for the A/Cs unless you have 30 or 50A shore power. All of this gets moderated depending upon the weather so roll the dice for any particular day and night.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 04:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Michelle.S wrote:

Simple, install a good EMS that has a remote display of both legs L1 & L2.
I have the Progressive Hardwired EMS and know exactly what the voltage and current are on each leg.
X2

Cptnvideo

Arizona - most of the time

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 05:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Michelle and CA, what you propose would not let me "share" the load between shore and batteries like the GoPower IC does.
CA, with load sharing between 15 or 20 amp shore and batteries supplying the additional current to the inverters, I can run 1 or 2 ACs, just not for an extended period of time.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/22 05:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I believe we both were implying that an EMS is an additional tool.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Two inverters for 50 amp service
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.