RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 30 vs 50 amp electrical issue help

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 vs 50 amp electrical issue help

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Page  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 12  
Next
Sponsored By:
ODG255

NV

New Member

Joined: 04/16/2023

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/16/23 09:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello,

I recently purchased a 2023 heartland mallard 32ft travel trailer. When I bought it at dealer they assured me it was a 50 amp service during purchase and during walk through. During walk through it was already hooked up via 50 amp cord and that is the cord I was given.

We camped two nights and lost all power during the night, come to find out we were running solely on solar despite the cord being plugged into appropriate 50 amp outlet at the camping ground.

Turns out the trailer is 30 amp! Above power receptacle on trailer it states 30 amp only. This is all confusing but I figured I would ask if anyone has had similar experiences… my concern is that at some point 50 amp power went into the trailer rated for 30 amp and fried it all. Thank you for input.

rk911

DuPage County

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/16/23 10:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

several thoughts….

- first, the dealer perpetrated a fraud. (possible)
- your trailer was re-wired for 50-amp. (doubtful)
- when power went out did you check to see if the breaker on the pedestal or the main breaker in the trlr had tripped?
- how many prongs on your electric cable? 3=30amp, 4=50amp connector. check the main breaker on the panel in the trlr. that will tell the tale.


Rich
Ham Radio, Sport Pilot, Retired 9-1-1 Call Center Administrator
_________________________________
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
'46 Willys CJ2A
'23 Jeep Wrangler JL
'10 Jeep Liberty KK

& MaggieThe Wonder Beagle

RedRollingRoadblock

Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 11/26/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/16/23 10:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If your cord plug is like This you have a 50 amp system.

If it looks like this it is a 30 amp system.

There is short cords called dogbones that will allow you to hook a 50 amp shore cord into a 30 amp outlet and vice versa. Or a 15/20 amp to your 50 or 30 amp cord.

ODG255

NV

New Member

Joined: 04/16/2023

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/16/23 10:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When power went out I went around and checked everything I could including breakers on power connection on camp ground side as well as all breakers in trailer. Also tried different combinations of battery shut off and solar inverter isolation. Nothing brought power in. I had to hook my truck up to get enough power trailer to bring in slides.

My power card has four prongs and the traditional “handle” on the neck.

I dropped the trailer off at dealer yesterday so I don’t have access to the breaker panel anymore.

ODG255

NV

New Member

Joined: 04/16/2023

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/16/23 10:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This is what the sticker on my trailer states directly above the inlet for the 50 amp cord they gave me.

“THIS CONNECTION IS FOR 110-125-VOLT
AC, 60 HZ, 30 AMPERE SUPPLY.
DO NOT EXCEED CIRCUIT RATING.
EXCEEDING THE CIRCUIT RATING MAY CAUSE A FIRE AND RESULT IN DEATH OR SERIOUS INJURY.
NP-101”

valhalla360

No paticular place.

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 04/17/23 02:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ODG255 wrote:

This is what the sticker on my trailer states directly above the inlet for the 50 amp cord they gave me.

“THIS CONNECTION IS FOR 110-125-VOLT
AC, 60 HZ, 30 AMPERE SUPPLY.
DO NOT EXCEED CIRCUIT RATING.
EXCEEDING THE CIRCUIT RATING MAY CAUSE A FIRE AND RESULT IN DEATH OR SERIOUS INJURY.
NP-101”


But how many prongs does the inlet have? The wrong sticker might have been slapped on.


Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2021 Gray Wolf
Gemini Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and RV


craig7h

Branson MO area

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2002

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 04/17/23 03:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Let me ask a few questions to just clear my mind. The cord, you said it has 4 prongs normally that would say 50amp. Question is the cord plugged into the trailer or wired directly? Reason I ask is two fold one if plugged into trailer how many prongs is it plugging into? If both have 4 prongs it would be almost safe to say you have 50amp. If direct wired maybe, just maybe the dealer or someone only connected one hot wire. That just does not make sense but stranger things happen.

You did not say if you had power at campground before going dark. Without being able to look at breaker box kind of hard to figure things out. I would see what dealer has to say and I guess go from there.

Good Luck


Itasca Meridian SE 36g
Road Master Tow Dolly

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/17/23 05:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

RedRollingRoadblock wrote:

If your cord plug is like This you have a 50 amp system.

If it looks like this it is a 30 amp system.

There is short cords called dogbones that will allow you to hook a 50 amp shore cord into a 30 amp outlet and vice versa. Or a 15/20 amp to your 50 or 30 amp cord.


That is not necessarly true. You can easily put a 50 amp plug on a 40 amp cord or a 30 amp outlet (The part that connets to the trailer) on a 50 amp cord... And I actually have a 30 amp cord with a 50a amp Marinco Outlet to connect to an RV.. Yes they sell that and what's more it is a "Superflex" so I really liked that cord on 30 amp sites.

Page 2

For the Original poster
Look at your main power distribution box

If the biggest breaker is 30 amps. you have a 30 amp rig
If there are a pair of 50 amp breakers.. Ganged together You have a 50 amp rig and someone put the wrong sticker on it.

Or have a professional go over it.

IF you have a 30 amp rig but the dealer said it was 50.. You have a complaint..Contact the DMV in the state where you purchased.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


ODG255

NV

New Member

Joined: 04/16/2023

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/17/23 07:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We will see what dealer says. My gut is that it’s a 30 amp rig and that power cord fried everything but I simply didn’t notice until night when solar drained. I have pictures of everything but the breaker box unfortunately.

My gut also says that the dealer will lie like they all do.

StirCrazy

Kamloops, BC, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2003

View Profile



Posted: 04/17/23 08:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ODG255 wrote:

Hello,

I recently purchased a 2023 heartland mallard 32ft travel trailer. When I bought it at dealer they assured me it was a 50 amp service during purchase and during walk through. During walk through it was already hooked up via 50 amp cord and that is the cord I was given.

We camped two nights and lost all power during the night, come to find out we were running solely on solar despite the cord being plugged into appropriate 50 amp outlet at the camping ground.

Turns out the trailer is 30 amp! Above power receptacle on trailer it states 30 amp only. This is all confusing but I figured I would ask if anyone has had similar experiences… my concern is that at some point 50 amp power went into the trailer rated for 30 amp and fried it all. Thank you for input.


first of all the utility doesn't push power into your trailer, but rather you pull what you need. so they cant push more amperage than you are using so you cannot damage it this way. most likely you have an adaptor on the end of your cord so you can use a 50 amp outlet to supply your camper. what it sounds like to me is a breaker wasn't turned on or something wasn't hooked up right from he get go and you were just using your battery and it ran out. I would make them put a new battery on it for you if they find a different issue also

Steve


2014 F350 6.7 Platinum
2016 Cougar 330RBK
1991 Slumberqueen WS100

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Page  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 12  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 30 vs 50 amp electrical issue help
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2023 CWI, Inc. © 2023 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.